Diploma awards 1

The 2012 recipients of the diploma for completion of the APC are pictured with front row): Ben King, Chairman, Geomatics Professional Group; Hugh Markey, Chair of the Commercial Agency Professional Group; then Society President John Curtin; Society Director General Ciara Murphy; and, Andrew Nugent, Chair, Quantity Surveyors Professional Group.
APC Diploma recipients: Sally Bailey, Chris Boyle, Darren Broderick, Antoinette Byrne, Helen Callaghan, Patrick Campion, James Connolly, Keith Craddock, Darragh Cronin, Shane Duffy, Catherine Fitzpatrick, Alan Fitzpatrick, William Goggin, Caroline Gorman, Stephen Hale, Frank Harrington, Ian Kilcoyne, Mairead Loughnane, Ciaran Lydon, Lara McCarthy, David McCarthy, Aidan McDonald, Daniel McLaughlin, Sean McMahon, Robert Moore, Jennifer Mulholland Mahon, Aoife Murray, Katie Norton, Eoin O’Donoghue, James O’Donoghue, Gerard O’Malley, Aileen O’Carroll, Daniel O’Connor, Fearghal Rooney, Brian Shields, Graham Skelly, Brian Thackaberry, Peter Turley, Ailson Walsh, Katie Williams.
Diploma recipients not present on the day: Barry Arthurs, Aonghus Callanan, John Carleton, Diarmuid Casey, Paddy Cusack, Jonathan Dowling, Ross Harris, Sarah Jane Kiernan, John Maloney, Ken McDonald, David McGrath, Seamus Meehan, John O’Halloran, Terry O’Leary, Colin O’Sullivan, Cathal Phelan, Robert Rowan, Mark Ryan, Seamus Ryan, James Slater.

The annual ceremony to award diplomas to candidates who successfully completed the APC took place on March 30, 2012, in St Stephen’s Church, Mount Street Crescent, Dublin 2.

2011 saw 86 candidates apply for Final Assessment. Sixty candidates successfully completed the APC, and 38 were present on the day to receive their diplomas.

Following the presentation of the Society of Chartered Surveyors Ireland diplomas, the annual presentation of medals and burses took place. The Austin Reddy Memorial Medal was presented by Declan Reddy to Ciaran Hickey for having achieved first place in the final year of the DIT Construction Economics & Management Degree course 2011. The Noel Dooley Burse was presented by Patrick Leonard to Liam Fleming for having achieved first place in the third year of the DIT Construction Economics & Management Degree course 2011. Finally, the David Bailey Burse was presented by Daphne Bailey to Darragh Dennigan for having achieved first place in the third year of the DIT Property Economics Degree course 2011.

The Society made a special presentation to Mary McLoughlin, past School Secretary in DIT, who contributed 42 years of her life to surveying education in DIT. Mary retired in November 2011, and was awarded Honorary Membership of the Society.

Following the ceremony, a reception was held in 38 Merrion Square for candidates and their guests.